Full-text and reference databases
In order to make sure that you do not miss any essential articles on your research topic, you should retrieve information from multiple e-journal collections that cover business and economics.
Full-text databases contain full-text versions of the required materials (e.g. electronic journals).
Reference databases point towards the required information, but you will still have to retrieve the information from the original document.
Citation databases
Web of Science and Scopus are multidisciplinary reference databases that offer information about articles as well as their connections by way of citations and references. Web of Science and Scopus databases allow you to search for the most cited articles on a topic, and citations of a specific article. You can check the availability of full-text versions of the articles via library linking (ViewIt@Aalto).
Also Google Scholar - Google's search engine specialised in searching for scholarly information - contains citation information.
What is a scholarly article?
Scholarly articles are published in scholarly journals (academic journals). Scholarly articles are written by experts in a particular academic discipline and intended for an academic audience.
The quality of articles in the majority of scholarly journals is guaranteed by peer review. The submitted articles are reviewed by other scholars in the field, and they also decide on their publication.
Many databases allow you to limit your search to academic, scolarly or peer-reviewed articles.
Business news
Aalto user, report a problem with e-resources to the Learning Centre
Article Search (Aalto-Primo)
Search articles from Aalto-Primo portal.
Full-text article databases via large subscription management agents
Full-text article databases from publishers
Other article databases
Reference databases
From ViewIt@Aalto link to the full text
By clicking the ViewIt@Aalto button you can move to the full text of an article or a book if it is available. If the electronic full text is not available, you can check the availability of the printed journal or book in Aalto-Primo portal. If the article is not available in our Learning Centre, you can order a copy of it using Inter-library loan service.
Google Scholar and library linking at Aalto University
The library linking service is also linked with Google Scholar, a search engine specialised in the retrieval of scientific information.
EndNote reference management tool
Aalto University IT Services provides the EndNote reference manager for the students, teachers, researchers and other staff of the university.
Information about installing EndNote : https://www.aalto.fi/en/services/reference-management-software-endnote
Self-study
The Guide to Information Retrieval leads you through the phases of academic information retrieval.
