Thesis collection: By types

Bachelor's theses are available in electronic format in Aaltodoc | Aaltodoc

• the schools of technology from 2008 onwards
• the School of Arts, Design and Architecture from autumn 2014 onwards
• the School of Business from autumn 2016 onwards

The metadata of Bachelor’s theses of the schools of technology and architecture from 2006 to 2016  is also recorded to Aaltodoc but not systematically.

Access to the full text files of most bachelor's theses is restricted. You can read the locked bachelor’s theses at the Harald Herlin Learning Centre's workstations as follows:

• search the bachelor’s thesis from the Aaltodoc database
• click the lock icon to get access to full text version of the thesis

Information about bachelor's theses is also available in Aalto-Primo. | Aalto-Primo

The Learning Centre does not archive printed bachelor’s theses. However, some departments of Aalto University may have archived copies of bachelor’s theses.

Theses of the Mikkeli Bachelor’s Programme in International Business

Theses conducted for the Bachelor’s Programme in International Business in Mikkeli (BScBA, Mikkeli) )before 2017 are only archived in printed form. They are retained and can be read in the Mikkeli Campus Library. Information about the printed theses is available in Aalto-Primo. Since 2017, theses conducted for BScBA, Mikkeli are archived in Aaltodoc in electronic format

Metadata of electronic licentiate theses is available in Aaltodoc. Full-texts are available if the author has given a permission for electronic publication. | Aaltodoc

Some older licentiate theses are available only in printed format. Search the availability of printed licensiate theses from Aalto-Primo. | Aalto-Primo

Basic search

Basic search searches the word(s) from Aaltodoc’s metadata fields, abstract texts and full-text files available in Aaltodoc.

Browsing

You can browse the archive by Issue Date, Author, Title, Subject, Degree programme / Major subject and Department. You can browse either all archived documents or documents in a specific collection.

Building your search query

Combine, expand, or limit your search with Boolen operators AND, OR, NOT. Write the operators with capital letters.  

• Searching sustainable AND fashion will return search results with both these words in them.
• Searching sustainable OR environmental will return search results with either of these words in them.
• Searching architecture NOT computer will return search results with "architecture" but not including "computer”.
• Use (...) parenthesis to group query words, for instance technology AND (sustainable OR environmental).

Use * as a wildcard character to search for variants of a word, for instance sustainab* (sustainable, sustainability).
Use ? as a wildcard to replace a single letter, for instance wom?n for woman and women.
Use "..." quotation marks, if you want to search for a compound term, for instance "global warming".

Printed theses are stored in the archive of Harald Herlin Learning Centre. Theses in the archive cannot be borrowed but they can be ordered to be read in the Learning Centre premises during customer service opening hours. Please send your orders to us by email oppimiskeskus [at] aalto.fi. Mention the name of the author and the name of the thesis in your email.

Ordered items are available for reading on the next business day after 12 am if not otherwise agreed.

All customers can read the electronic theses locally at the Aalto University Harald Herlin Learning Centre's workstations. Find our contact information and service hours from our web page. I Learning Centre

Master’s, licentiate, and doctoral theses with restricted access

• Use the Aalto Thesis Database remote desktop connection to Aaltodoc. I Aalto Thesis Database instructions
• Aalto students, faculty and staff can use the Aalto Thesis Database also outside the Learning Centre premises.

Locked bachelor's theses

• Log in to Learning Centre's workstations and open the thesis file from Aaltodoc.
• Aalto faculty and staff can access the full texts of bachelor's theses by logging in to Aaltodoc with personal Aalto ID.

Requesting the thesis file from the Learning Centre

You can also request the electronic theses not available in the open network by sending an email to the Learning Centre. Our email address is oppimiskeskus [at] aalto.fi. Please note that only private customers can make requests. Please mention the author’s name, title of the thesis and year of publication in your request.