Thesis collection: Aalto Thesis Database

Aalto Thesis Database is a remote desktop connection to Aaltodoc publication archive. Via Aalto Thesis Database you can read documents with restricted access:

• master’s theses
• licentiate theses
• doctoral theses

Please note, that you cannot open locked bachelor’s theses files via Aalto Thesis Database. You can access the locked bachelor’s theses files on the public workstations at the Aalto University Harlad Herlin Learning Centre. Aalto University staff can access the bachelor’s theses by logging in to Aaltodoc with Aalto credentials.

All visitors at the Harald Herlin Learning Centre

• Public Windows workstations.
• Aalto University students, faculty and staff members log in to the workstations by using Aalto credentials.
• Other customers log in using a shared username and password.
• Open the Aalto Thesis Database from the workstation’s Start menu.
• See the Learning Centre’s contact details and opening hours from our web page. I Harald Herlin Learning Centre

Aalto students

• IT Windows classrooms on campus and
• via the virtual desktop connection (VDI) by connecting to a Windows workstation at a classroom. I How to use Aalto Virtual Desktop Infrastructure (Instructions: IT Services)
• Open the Aalto Thesis Database from the workstation’s Start menu.

Aalto faculty and staff

• Download the application from the Aalto Windows Workstation Selfservice Portal. I Software SelfServicePortal
• After download is completed you can find the Aalto Thesis Database from the workstation’s Start menu.

• The copyrights of the thesis belongs to the author.
• You are not allowed to download or send the file from the service.
• You are not allowed to copy the content.
• You are not allowed to modify the content.

• Open the Aalto Thesis Database from the workstation’s Start menu.
• Access to the Aaltodoc archive from the Aalto Thesis Database main page.
• Find the thesis information from Aaltodoc.
• Click on the Access to electronic archive copy link to get to the loading page of the thesis file.
• Open the thesis by clicking the thesis file name.
• You can read the thesis on the screen or print it to paper.

The Aalto University students, faculty and staff members may print the theses on paper for personal study and research:

• Select SecurePrint from the printer list.
• Find PrintingPoint devices on campus to print the file on paper.
• If the size of the file is big it it preferable to print the thesis in two or more parts.

You can also make a request for the thesis file by email from the Learning Centre:

• Only private customers can make requests.
• Our email address is oppimiskeskus [at] aalto.fi.
• Please mention the author’s name, title of the thesis and the year of publication in your request.