Skip to main content

Visual Resources Centre: Aalto University's image collections

Aalto University's image collections in Aalto-Finna

Explore Aalto University Archive's collections

Visual resources related to the activities and results of learning and research are available in Aalto-Finna and Aalto University Archive's collections can be explored on the Archive's website.

With Aalto-Finna Image archive search you can find images related to the activities and history of Aalto University and its predecessors. Archive materials contain historic photographs that document teaching and research at the University, visual materials related to theses and student works, and materials from personal archives of some former teachers of the University. The earliest materials are from early 20th century.

For some materials only descriptive information is available in Aalto-Finna, if copyright allows images are displayed. If an image is not displayed for copyright reasons, all images can be viewed on the Learning Centre and Archive premises by appointment. Use permissions are displayed alongside each image, the majority of the historic materials are available for free use with an open CC-BY 4.0 license. The original materials are available for research at the Aalto University Archive.

Only a limited amount of images is available in Aalto-Finna, the archive holds collections that are not yet made digitally available. If you can’t find what you are looking for, please contact:

arkisto@aalto.fi (archive research services, high-resolution images, digitisation and publication enquiries)

Introduction to Aalto University Archives

Depositing Aalto University's visual materials to the archives

Explore Aalto University Archives online

Aalto University Archives is responsible for the long-term preservation of university records and visual collections resulting from the activities of the University. The archives are undergoing a mass-digitization process during which tens of thousands of visual materials are being made available in digital format.

www.aalto.fi/en/archives

https://blogs.aalto.fi/visualheritage/

Aalto-Finna

Are you a teacher? Want to explore the archive or visual materials with your students?

The archive can arrange tailored visits for groups of students into the archives to learn more about the visual materials, university records, the history of a variety of disciplines at the university, or other unique resources in the collections.

Contact: arkisto@aalto.fi