Skip to main content

Guide to information retrieval: Choosing information resources

Choosing information resources

You should begin by identifying the central information resources in your research field. For more advice on how to identify them, please see the subject guides.

Finna search service also provides different approaches to information based on scientific fields or resource types.

Using just one database rarely offers enough information on a topic, so you should use multiple resources to gather enough information for your work.

Selection of information resources

Which information resource should you use to retrieve the information you need?
Examples of where to look for information are presented below.

Books

tiedonhankinnanopas_kirjat

Articles

tiedonhankinnanopas_lehtiartikkelit

Newspapers

tiedonhankinnanopas_sanomalehdet

Theses, dissertations

tiedonhankinnanopas_opinnaytteet

Dictionaries

tiedonhankinnanopas_sanakirjat

Reference works

tiedonhankinnanopas_hakuteokset

Statistics

tiedonhankinnanopas_tilastot

Patents

tiedonhankinnanopas_patentit

Standards

tiedonhankinnanopas_standardit

Images

tiedonhankinnanopas_kuvat

Working papers, conference publications

tiedonhankinnanopas_tyopaperit

Law

tiedonhankinnanopas_lakitieto

Company information

tiedonhankinnanopas_yritystieto

Research tools

tiedonhankinnanopas_tutkimuksentyovalineita

Citation databases

tiedonhankinnanopas_viittaussuhteet

Case studies

tiedonhankinnanopas_casestudies

Finna search service

Finna search service provides access to e-journals, e-books, reference databases, image databases, dictionaries and collection databases available at Aalto University. Some open access information resources are also available in Finna, but for a majority of resources the use is restricted to Aalto University's campus area.

Aalto University's students and personnel can use Finna remotely outside the University network. To access all the resources available in Finna remotely, please log in to the portal with your Aalto IT identifier.

Google Scholar

Google Scholar is Google's search engine specialised in searching for scholarly information.

The SFX linking service available at Learning Centre is linked with Google Scholar.

To make sfx@Aalto links visible in your search results on a computer which is not connected to the Aalto University landline network:

Read more>>

Please note that Aalto University does not have access to all materials that are included in the search results.