• Publication manual of the American Psychological Association. 2010. Washington (D.C.) : American Psychological Association. ISBN 978-1-4338-0561-5.
When writing a thesis, other students' works may be helpful. Full text materials produced by the schools of Aalto University are available in the Aaltodoc publication archive.
Bibliography
There are many systems to make a bibliography. At Aalto University the practice varies between different disciplines, so it is recommended to ask the supervisor for advice when writing for example a master's thesis. Two commonly used reference systems are presented here: the Harvard system and the Vancouver system.
The information mentioned in the examples always has to be in the references when available. If a part of information is missing the field will be omitted, except that the number or the volume of a journal will be marked as (-).
In electronic references there has to be mentioned the place (computer) where the document can be found, the directory path, document's name and how it can be downloaded (the protocol for that). In addition to the information concerning the availability there has to be the date of citation, the update date and the publication type (e.g. online).
The bibliographic references as well as the in-text citations can be made for example with the help of the EndNote bibliographic manager. It makes them automatically according to the chosen system.
Author(s). Year of publication (Harvard system). Title of article. Name of journal, year of publication (Vancouver system). Volume. Number of issue. Page numbers of article. ISSN.
Al-Jabari, M. 2004. Dynamics of chelation-supercritical fluid extraction from wood fibers. Journal of separation science. Vol. 27:9. P. 686-690. ISSN 1615-9306.
5. Al-Jabari, M. Dynamics of chelation-supercritical fluid extraction from wood fibers. Journal of separation science, 2004. Vol. 27:9. P. 686-690. ISSN 1615-9306.
Author(s), editor(s). Year of publication (Harvard system). Title. Edition if not the first. Place of publication: Publisher, year of publication (Vancouver system). Total number of pages. Possible series entry and/or report code. ISBN.
Wilson, S. 1984. Electron correlation in molecules. 2nd ed. Oxford, United Kingdom: Clarendon Press. 281 p. (International series of monographs on chemistry 11). ISBN 0-19-855617-9.
Raghavendra, C. R. & Sivaligam, K. M. & Znati, T. F. (ed.). 2004. Wireless sensor networks. Boston, Illinois, USA: Kluwer Academic. 426 p. ISBN 1-4020-7883-8.
Mote, C. D. Jr. & Johnson, R. J. 1991. Skiing trauma and safety: eight international symposium. Philadelphia, USA: ASIM. 270 p. ASIM special technical publication 1104 ASIM-STP-1104. ISBN 0-8031-1405-2.
1. Wilson, S. Electron correlation in molecules. 2nd ed. Oxford, United Kingdom: Clarendon Press, 1984. 281 p. (International series of monographs on chemistry 11). ISBN 0-19-855617-9.
2. Raghavendra, C. R. & Sivaligam, K. M. & Znati, T. F. (ed.) Wireless sensor networks. Boston, Illinois, USA: Kluwer Academic, 2004. 426 p. ISBN 1-4020-7883-8.
3. Mote, C. D. Jr. & Johnson, R. J. Skiing trauma and safety: eight international symposium. Philadelphia, USA: ASIM, 1991. 270 p. ASIM special technical publication 1104 ASIM-STP-1104. ISBN 0-8031-1405-2.
Author. Year of publication (Harvard system). Title. Type of thesis. University, department or equivalent. Place of publication. Year of publication (Vancouver system). Total number of pages. (ISBN or ISSN.)
Teikari, P. 2006. Biological effects of light. Master's thesis. Aalto University, School of Electrical Engineering, Department of Communications and Networking. Espoo. 134 p.
Pitkäranta, T. 2006. Software agents in semantic web environment. Licentiate thesis. Aalto University, School of Science, Department of Computer Science and Engineering. Espoo. 130 p.
11. Teikari, P. Biological effects of light. Master's thesis. Aalto University, School of Electrical Engineering, Department of Communications and Networking. Espoo. 2006. 134 p.
12. Pitkäranta, T. Software agents in semantic web environment. Licentiate thesis. alto University, School of Science, Department of Computer Science and Engineering. Espoo. 2006. 130 p.
Author(s). Year of publication (Harvard system). Title of paper. In: Editors. Title of conference publication. Edition. Place and date of conference. Place of publication: Publisher or organiser of conference, year of publication (Vancouver system). Possible series entry. Page numbers of the article. ISBN.
Graefe, G & Shapiro, L D. 1991. Data compression and database performance. In: Kumar, Vijay & Unger, E. A. Proceedings of the 1991 Symposium on applied computing. Kansas City, Missouri, USA. 3-5.4.1991. Los Alamitos, California, USA: IEEE Computer Society Press. P. 2227. ISBN 0-8186-2136-2.
Oliveira, P. J. & Issa, R. I. 2003. Numerical aspects of an algorithm for the Eulerian simulation of two-phase flows. In: Morgan, K. & Weatherill, N. P. (eds.) ECCOMAS Computational fluid dynamics conference part V. University of Wales, Swansea, United Kingdom. 4-7.9.2001. International journal for numerical methods in fluids. 2003. Vol. 43:10-11. P. 11771198. ISSN 0271-2091. (DOI: 10.1002/fld.508).
9. Graefe, G & Shapiro, L. D. Data compression and database performance. In: Kumar, V. & Unger, E. A. Proceedings of the 1991 Symposium on applied computing. Kansas City, Missouri, USA. 3-5.4.1991. Los Alamitos, California, USA: IEEE Computer Society Press, 1991. P. 2227. ISBN 0-8186-2136-2.
10. Oliveira, P. J. & Issa, R. I. Numerical aspects of an algorithm for the Eulerian simulation of two-phase flows. In: Morgan, K. & Weatherill, N. P. (eds.) ECCOMAS Computational fluid dynamics conference part V. University of Wales, Swansea, United Kigdom. 4-7.9.2001. International journal for numerical methods in fluids, 2003. Vol. 43:10-11. P. 1177-1198. ISSN 0271-2091. (DOI: 10.1002/fld.508.)
The mark and number. Year of publication (Harvard system). Title of standard. Edition if not the first. Place of publication: publisher. Year of publication (Vancouver system). Total number of pages.
ISO-690-2. 1997. Information and documentation: bibliographic references. Part 2: Electronic documents or parts thereof. Genève: International organization for standardization. 21 p.
16. ISO-690-2. Information and documentation: bibliographic references. Part 2: Electronic documents or parts thereof. Genève: International organization for standardization. 1997. 21 p.
Country of publication and number of the patent. Year of publication (Harvard system). Title of patent. Patentee, Domicile. (Inventor) Application number, Date of filing. Date of publication. Total number of pages.
EP 1713073 A1. 2006. Universal housing for holding storage devices. Quantum Corporation, San Jose, US. (Thorson, Thomas A.) 06252028.3. 12.04.2006. Publ. 18.10.2006. 17 p.
EP 1713073 A1. Universal housing for holding storage devices. Quantum Corporation, San Jose, US. (Thorson, Thomas A.) 06252028.3. 12.04.2006. Publ. 18.10.2006. 17 p.
Author(s) (Required)
Year of publication or update in Harvard system (Required)
Title of article (Required)
Title of serial (Required)
Type of medium (Required)
Edition (Required)
Issue designation (Required)
Year of publication or update in Vancouver system (Required)
Location within host document (Required)
Date of citation (Required for electronic documents)
Standard number (Required)
Availability: URL or DOI number (Required)
Maloka, Iamir E. & Harhim, Emad T. 2004. Estimation of the surface tension of a pure liquid. Petroleum science and technology. [Electronic journal]. Vol. 22:11-12. P. 1527-1534. Available at: http://www.tandfonline.com/doi/pdf/10.1081/LFT-200027836.
Lassalle, V. L. & Failla, M. D. & Vallés, E. M. & Martin-Martinez, J. M. 2004. Chemical modification of styrene-butadiene-styrene co-polymer by grafting of N-carbamyl maleamic acid. Journal of adhesion science and technology. Vol. 18:15. P. 1849-1860. DOI:10.1163/1568561042708359.
6. Maloka, Iamir E. & Harhim, Emad T. Estimation of the surface tension of a pure liquid. Petroleum science and technology. [Electronic journal]. Vol. 22:11-12. 2004. P. 1527-1534. Available at: http://www.tandfonline.com/doi/pdf/10.1081/LFT-200027836.
7. Lassalle, V. L. & Failla, M. D. & Vallés, E. M. & Martin-Martinez, J. M. Chemical modification of styrene-butadiene-styrene co-polymer by grafting of N-carbamyl maleamic acid. Journal of adhesion science and technology. Vol. 18:15. 2004. P. 1849-1860. DOI:10.1163/1568561042708359.
Jacobsen, Hugo A. 2014. Chemical reactor modeling : multiphase reactive flows. Berlin: Springer. ISBN 9783319050928. Available at: http://link.springer.com/10.1007/978-3-319-05092-8.
3. Jacobsen, Hugo A. Chemical reactor modeling : multiphase reactive flows. Berlin: Springer, 2014. ISBN 9783319050928. Available at: http://link.springer.com/10.1007/978-3-319-05092-8.
Author. Year of publication (Harvard system). Title. Type of medium. Type of thesis. University, department or equivalent. Place of publication. Year of publication (Vancouver system). Total number of pages. Date of citation. (ISBN or ISSN.) Availability: URL or DOI number (Required).
Nieminen, M. 2004. Information support for user-oriented development organisation : considerations based on the construction and evaluation of knowledge storage. Dissertation. Helsinki University of Technology Software Business and Engineering. Espoo. ISBN 951-22-7308-X. Available at: http://urn.fi/urn:nbn:fi:tkk-004278.
Vancouver system:
13. Nieminen, M. Information support for user-oriented development organisation : considerations based on the construction and evaluation of knowledge storage. Dissertation. Helsinki University of Technology Software Business and Engineering. Espoo, 2004. ISBN 951-22-7308-X. Available at: http://urn.fi/urn:nbn:fi:tkk-004278.
The Purdue Online Writing Lab (OWL). Purdue University. [Cited 7 Apr 2015]. Available at: https://owl.english.purdue.edu/.
Harvard system
In the Harvard system the bibliographic references are organised alphabetically according to the first author's surname. If there are several references of the same author they will be organised according to the date of publication. If the same author has several publications during the same year the references are marked with a, b, c.
Vancouver system
In the Vancouver system the references are listed in numerical order as they appear in the text. The year is mentioned after the publication information.