Skip to main content

Information skills training

Arts, design and architecture Information skills training

Bachelor of Arts Programme 

Information skills training consists of contact teaching and exercises to be carried out indenpendently. The study modules are integrated to studies so that they support the teaching of the degree programmes.The training is subscribed from the Learning Centre by each individual degree programme. 

Information skills training modules:

  • Intruduction to information retrieval
  • Image retrieval studies
  • Information literacy

Introduction to information retrieval

Timing:  autumn of the first year, e.g. orientation of new students        
Implementation: 2 hrs of contact teaching
Content: The collections, facilities and services of the Learning Centre. Aalto-Finna portal and
MELINDA database and introduction to the theory of information retrieval.

As a self-study material, you can also play and learn skills to find reliable information. The Defender of Knowledge game introduces players to Aalto University Learning Centre's services and facilities. Download The Defender of Knowledge from Google Play or Apple Store. You can also find information about facilities and services through 360 virtual tour.

Image retrieval studies

Timing: Any stage of the studies, as students need image material.
Implementation: 4 hrs of contact teaching in computer classroom, independent exercises.
Content: The students familiarise themselves with various types of visual resources. The studies also discuss source criticism and copyright issues associated with using images. The aim is in learning to use various image databases efficiently and to use image material ethically and legally.

Topics covered:

  • Copyright information, Creative Commons-licenses, using images in study projects
  • Introduction to image retrieval
  • Different types of visual resources: printed images in books and magazines, image databases licensed by Aalto University Learning Centre, analogue and digital visual resources provided by libraries, archives and museums, image service consortiums, editorial and stock image services, artist and designer blogs and websites, social media and image searching from the Internet

Information literacy (ARTS-A0108)

Timing: as the students start working on their final projects (e.g. the autumn of the 3rd year); the module is implemented as an integrated part of a BA thesis seminar or other similar studies.
Prior studies: Introduction to information retrieval                       
   
Implementation: 6 hrs of contact teaching in computer classroom, independent exercises                        
              
Learning outcomes: The student learns to systematically find information on a subject in his/her field using the various information sources offered by the Learning Centre and also learns to draw on these skills when working on his/her own final project. The student masters the conceptual analysis of information needs and formulation of key words. The student is able to assess various information sources and their quality and is familiar with reference management tools.      
                                   
Content: Emphasis of the training will be agreed based on the needs of each group, but for example the following subjects are covered during the course:

  • conceptual analysis of the student’s need for information
  • search techniques: a systematic information search process and strategies
  • key information sources of the student’s own field  of science and subject, information structure
  • remote use of licensed materials
  • comprehensive retrieval of information on the student’s own research theme, analysis of the process and results
  • familiarising oneself with reference management and reference management tools and their use for producing scientific writing
  • assessing materials and the ethical grounds of information use
  • how to find and use images

Further information:
Eila Rämö, tel. +358 50 502 7716
or forename.surename@aalto.fi

  • Advanced information retrieval studies                                 
  • Image retrieval studies                                             
  • Personal guidance in information retrieval 

Advanced information retrieval studies

Timing: The training should for example be taken at the time the students start working on their Master’s theses, making it possible to integrate it in theoretical or research skills studies. The course objective is to revise and update the students’ existing knowledge.
Implementation: 4-6 hrs of contact teaching in computer classroom, independent exercises

Content:

  • more advanced understanding of key information sources in one’s own field, updating one’s knowledge (databases, E-journals)
  • systematic information retrieval and utilising information skills in research work
  • defining more precisely the information needs relevant to one’s own research subject and conceptual analysis of the subject
  • a systematic information search process and strategies
  • assessment of search results and information sources, source criticism
  • reference practices, reference management tools


Image retrieval studies

Timing: Any stage of the studies, as students need image material.
Implementation: 4 hrs of contact teaching in computer classroom, independent exercises.
Content: The students familiarise themselves with various types of visual resources. The studies also discuss source criticism and copyright issues associated with using images. The aim is in learning to use various image databases efficiently and to use image material ethically and legally.

Topics covered:

  • Copyright information, Creative Commons-licenses, using images in study projects
  • Introduction to image retrieval
  • Different types of visual resources: printed images in books and magazines, image databases licensed by Aalto University Learning Centre, analogue and digital visual resources provided by libraries, archives and museums, image service consortiums, editorial and stock image services, artist and designer blogs and websites, social media and image searching from the Internet

Personal guidance in information retrieval

Prior studies: Information literacy module                        
Implementation: the student makes an appointment (1-2 hrs) with the Learning Centre. Personal guidance and assistance in information retrieval problems is given to students writing their theses and projects.The aim is to learn to use key information sources efficiently for one’s own research subject, such as the online material of Aalto University Learning Centre, and to also use the services of other libraries.

Further information:
Eila Rämö, tel. +358 50 502 7716
or forename.surename@aalto.fi

Teaching available during autumn and spring terms:

1. Information retrieval / Information literacy

2. Image retrieval studies

3. Personal guidance in information retrieval

1. Information retrieval / information literacy

Duration: 2 x 2 h
Location: Computer classroom

Objectives: The course concentrates on the effective use of e-resources provided by the Learning Centre. The student / researcher learns to acquire information effectively, evaluate information and its sources critically, and apply information effectively in research, as well as take into account ethical and legal aspects of using information.

Contents: The focus is on information seeking and management in the field of art and design, but the course also covers other libraries’ services and collections.

  • refresher on the basics of information retrieval  
  • library collection databases and joint collection systems  
  • e- journals and e-books
  • reference databases  
  • encyclopaedias and dictionaries  
  • evaluation of search results and source criticism  
  • referencing systems, reference management program RefWorks

2. Image retrieval studies

Duration: 2 x 2 h
Location: Computer classroom

Timing: Any stage of the studies, as students need image material.
Implementation: 4 hrs of contact teaching in a computer classroom, independent exercises.
Content: The students familiarise themselves with various types of visual resources. The studies also discuss source criticism and copyright issues associated with using images. The aim is in learning to use various image databases efficiently and to use image material ethically and legally.

Topics covered:

  • Copyright information, Creative Commons-licenses, using images in study projects
  • Introduction to image retrieval
  • Different types of visual resources: printed images in books and magazines, image databases licensed by Aalto University Learning Centre, analogue and digital visual resources provided by libraries, archives and museums, image service consortiums, editorial and stock image services, artist and designer blogs and websites, social media and image searching from the Internet

3. Personal Tuition in Information Searching

Research and doctoral students receive individual instruction and help with information searching.

Implementation: student / researcher makes an appointment (1-2h) from the Learning Centre.

The objective is to learn the efficient use of essential information sources related to one's research subject, including Aalto University  Learning Centre’s e-resources as well as other libraries’ or organisations’ (e.g. businesses) information sources.

Personal guidance and assistance in information retrieval problems is given to students writing their theses and projects. The aim is to learn to use key information sources efficiently for one’s own research subject, such as the online resources of Aalto University Learning Centre, and to also use the services of other libraries.

The student can make an appointment (1-2h) by email, or by filling and sending a Meet an Information Specialist form.

The Learning Centre offers opportunities for teachers and staff to update their knowledge on the Learning Centre’s services. Information sources such as e-journals and information retrieval methods are developing and changing at a fast pace.

We are happy to make visits to departments and introduce teachers and staff to Learning Centre services, or they may be invited to the Learning Centre. The content of the visit is planned and agreed according to each department’s needs.

Personal guidance on information retrieval is also available upon request, for more information please see Meet an Information Specialist

Groups from outside of the University are provided instruction in information resources use and information retrieval by request. The content and time of the instruction can be arranged according to the needs of the group.

International exchange students are offered introductions in English to Aalto University Learning Centre's premises and services. This session provides an introduction to:

  • basics of information retrieval
  • an overview of information sources
  • use of the Aalto-Finna portal
  • an overview of the Finnish library network

As a self-study material, you can also play and learn skills to find reliable information. The Defender of Knowledge game introduces players to Aalto University Learning Centre's services and facilities. Download The Defender of Knowledge from Google Play or App Store. You can also find information about facilities and services through 360 virtual tour.

Loading ...