Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Media: Books

Printed Branch Collections

Collection of Design and Art and Collection of Architecture (Learning Centre, 2nd floor) contain literature from the fields of The School of Arts, Design and Architecture. Also branch reference collections are located on 2nd floor.

In Special Collection (Learning Centre, K-floor) some rare and valuable books and archive copies of ARTS publications are stored. Material can not be loaned, but you can order it to reading room from the customer service desk.

Both the collection of Design and Art and the collection of Architecture have a classification of their own.

Miscellaneus Disciplines

Collections essential for research -  methodology, science and philosophy - are located on the first floor of The Learning Centre. Also coursebooks and short term loans are on first floor, as well as a collection of recent publications of Aalto University.

Collections for education, teaching, cultural history, history, psychology, sociology, and society  can be found on K-floor in open mobile shelf system. Also technical report series and the old collections of TKK and HKKK are situated on K-floor.

Joint collections are organised alphabetically under each discipline.

ARTS Study Materials

Literature used as study material on courses of The School of Arts, Design and Architecture is located on the first floor. Loan period 2 weeks.

Acquisition request

In case an important title (printed or e-book) is missing from the Learning Centre's collection, you can send an acquisition request to the library.

Material from other libraries

Send us an interlibrary loan request and let us find a library that holds what you need – anywhere in the world. Interlibrary service covers all kinds of print materials, usually book loans or journal article copies. Fill out the form and we will handle the rest. We charge according to our pricelist.

Need help with e-books?

Please visit our e-book guide if you need help for finding and using e-books.