Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Chemical engineering: Articles and databases

The most popular reference databases

tekniikka_viitetietokannat

The most popular full-text databases

tekniikka_e-lehdet

What is a scholarly article?

Scholarly articles are published in scholarly journals (academic journals). Scholarly articles are written by experts in a particular academic discipline and intended for an academic audience.

The quality of articles in the majority of scholarly journals is guaranteed by peer review. The submitted articles are reviewed by other scholars in the field, and they also decide on their publication.

Many databases allow you to limit your search to academic, scolarly or peer-reviewed articles.

Using e-journal databases

The platforms of the e-journal services allow you to specify and refine your searches much more than e.g. the Aalto-Primo search portal. The search functions of different e-journal databases are relatively similar. When you know how to use different browse functions, thesauruses and subject terms, reference management programs, user accounts on the databases and can filter search results, your knowledge of information retrieval from the databases is already very good.

Even though using individual databases is easy, learning how to use library services such as Aalto-Primo will provide you with a deeper understanding of the information resources available. This will make you a more efficient information-seeker, and support your independent learning.

Reference databases enable you to go through the content from multiple e-journal databases via one user interface. You can store a small number of full-text articles onto e.g. your personal computer for research purposes.

Find an article

Search articles from Aalto-Primo portal.

Databases specialised on biotechnology

bioteknologia

Databases specialised on chemistry

kemia_viitetietokannat

Databases specialised on materials science

materiaalit_viitetietokannat

Databases specialised on forest products technology

puunjalostus_viitetietokannat

Using e-resources

Aalto University students and staff:

  • Using university workstations on landline network
  • Using Aalto University username and password to login from outside of the university network (off-campus use)
  • Using the Eduroam network or through VPN connection whenever needed

Other customers:

Read more about using e-resources and conditions of use for e-resources.

Learning Centre e-resource news

EndNote reference management tool

Aalto University IT Services provides the EndNote reference manager for the students, teachers, researchers and other staff of the university.

Information about installing EndNote : https://www.aalto.fi/en/services/reference-management-software-endnote

RefWorks - a citation management tool

The Aalto University subscription to RefWorks ended 31 December 2021.
Please see further instructions on how to export references from RefWorks to another reference management system.

RefWorks is a citation management tool that will store your references and convert them into the correct referencing system. Read more >>

Citation guide

Learn to Use RefWorks in 20 Minutes (YouTube)

 

 

 

Search Google Scholar

Search by title of the article.
Note: Choose "Aalto University" in Settings > Library links, if you have not done it yet.

Google Scholar Search